Full version Classification Of Food

Classification Of Food

This print version free essay Classification Of Food.

Category: Miscellaneous

Autor: reviewessays 18 February 2011

Words: 884 | Pages: 4

Classification of Food

Eating is a mandatory process that people must perform in order to sustain life. There are numerous choices to choose from when it comes to food ("Adjusting the Servings"). There are fruits, vegetables, dairy products, meat, fish, and many others. Food can be combined with various amounts of other foods and there are a profuse number of ways to cook them ("Adjusting the Servings"). In general, food can be broken down into six categories. This includes: the bread, cereal, rice, and pasta group; fruit group; vegetable group; milk, yogurt, and cheese group or dairy group; meat, poultry, fish, dry beans, eggs, and nuts group; fats, oils, and sweets group.

The bread, cereal, rice, and pasta group contain foods such as crackers, spaghetti, pancakes, and other products. A person should eat 6-11 servings everyday. Foods made from cereal grains provide starches and fiber. Starches are an excellent energy source. Enriched breads and cereals are a source of iron. Iron is a part of hemoglobin which supplies oxygen to body cells. Eating six to 11 servings each day will provide important nutrients and help meet energy requirements ("Food Pyramid Information").

The next class is the fruit group. This can be broken down further into different kinds of fruits. This includes: tropical or exotic, citrus, tree, olives, fruit-vegetables, berries, and melons. Tropical or exotic fruits can be classified further still as bananas, one stoned, segmented, 2-10 seeded, or more than 15 seeded. A person should consume 2- 4 servings each day. Fruits are a good source of potassium, as well as vitamins A and C. Potassium works in combination with sodium to contract and expand muscles, maintain water balance between cells, and transmit nerve impulses. Vitamin C helps form the collagen that gives structure to bones, cartilage, and muscles. The variety of colors, shapes and flavors found in fruits can add nutritional value to any meal (Thefruitpages.com).

The third category is the vegetable group. Examples of vegetables are broccoli, lettuce, corn, potatoes, pumpkins, and many more. A person should eat 3- 5 servings daily. Vegetables are relatively low in calories and fat, and provide many different vitamins and minerals. These low-fat, fiber-rich foods are good sources of vitamin A, vitamin C, and folic acid. Some vegetables contain magnesium, potassium and iron. Vitamin A works to provide healthy skin, hair and mucous membranes. Proper bone growth and tooth development depends on vitamin A. It also assists with night vision or the ability of the eye to adapt to darkness. Vegetables are rich in nutritional value, which are similar to fruits ("Food Pyramid Information").

The next group is the milk, yogurt, and cheese group. This is also referred to as the dairy group. This class includes foods such as ice cream, chocolate milk, cream cheese, or low fat yogurt. A person should ingest 2-3 servings everyday. It is important to eat milk products daily to provide needed calcium, B vitamins and protein. Milk, yogurt and cheese are the best sources of calcium. It helps to build a strong bone structure and not enough calcium can lead to Osteoporosis. Osteoporosis is the thinning of the bone due to loss of calcium and other minerals, which makes bones frail and easy to break. Two to three servings from the milk, yogurt and cheese group are needed by everyone ("Food Pyramid Information").

The fourth classification is the meat, poultry, fish, dry beans, eggs, and nuts group. This can consist of foods like tofu, chicken, pork, black eyed peas, peanut butter, or seeds. A person should consume 2-3 servings each day. Foods in this group provide protein, niacin, vitamins B6 and B12, iron, phosphorous and zinc. Meat, poultry, fish and egg yolk also provide fat and cholesterol. These vitamins help build and maintain blood cells, hormones, nervous system chemicals, genetic material, and all the cells of the body. If Niacin is eaten everyday, it will lower your blood cholesterol. B6 helps regulate blood pressure, muscle contraction, and heart function. Vitamin B12 helps coat nerve cells with a fatty layer and this helps nerve signals travel faster through your body, sending messages to other nerve cells. Zinc is a nutrient your body needs for many essential functions such as growth and development, maintenance of the body's immune system, wound healing and appetite control. If you are looking for variety in your food choices, this food group can certainly provide it ("Food Pyramid Information").

The final class is the fats, oils, and sweets group. Examples of fats, oils, and sweets include chips, candy, chocolate, fried foods, and many more. Most people should use foods from this group sparingly and not daily. Foods in this group provide energy, but very little other nutritional value ("Food Pyramid Information").

The Food Guide Pyramid outlines foods individuals over two years of age should eat each day to maintain a well-rounded diet. This general nutrition guide encourages people to eat a variety of foods from each of six basic food groups. Each food group provides important nutrients, and substituting one food group for another may result in a lack of some nutrients. Individuals need to eat foods from each group daily ("Food Pyramid Information").

"Adjusting the servings: Considerations for scaling a recipe." MayoClinic.com. 2004. 8 Oct. 2005 .

"Food Pyramid Information." Food Pyramid. 2000. 09 Oct. 2005 .

The Fruit Pages. 2003. 08 Oct. 2005 .